What Is Grand Slam In F1? Charles Leclerc Sets Career First In Australia

In F1, Charles Leclerc completed the Grand Slam in the Australian Grand Prix, but what did the Ferrari driver have to do to do so? If there was any doubt previously, it is now gone.

Ferrari and Charles Leclerc are doing well in the title race, and after only three races, it could be his and theirs to lose. Leclerc has 71 points from 78 games so far this season, with George Russell trailing on 37. Max Verstappen has 25 points after retiring from the race, while Lewis Hamilton has 28 points after finishing fourth in Melbourne. At Albert Park, however, no one could stop Leclerc, who cruised to his fourth career victory. But he also completed the Grand Slam in the race, but what must an F1 driver do to achieve this honor?

Charles Leclerc
Charles Leclerc (Source: Pinterest)

What Is Grand Slam In F1?

The Grand Slam, also known as a Grand Chelem in Formula One, is extremely difficult to achieve. To achieve the F1 Grand Slam, a driver must complete the following tasks.

  • Take command of the situation.
  • Post your fastest race lap.
  • Obtain victory in the race.
  • From start to finish, take the lead on every lap.

On Saturday, Leclerc won the pole position by 0.286 seconds over Verstappen. He set the fastest lap on the final tour after convincing his engineer to let him go for the extra bonus point. He also never trailed in the race, leading all 58 laps from start to finish. It is Leclerc’s fourth victory, following his victories in the 2019 Belgian and Italian Grand Prix, as well as the 2022 season opener in Bahrain.

Who Has The Most Grand Slam In F1?

A Grand Slam in F1 is extremely rare, with only a few well-known names having achieved it. Jim Clark holds the record for the most Grand Slams, with three in each of the 1963 and 1965 seasons – the years he won his two world titles. Lewis Hamilton has six current drivers. These were in Malaysia in 2014, Italy in 2015, China, Canada, and the United Kingdom in 2017, and the 2019 Abu Dhabi Grand Prix. Michael Schumacher received five points, while Ayrton Senna and Sebastian Vettel each received four. Vettel’s most recent race was the 2013 Korean Grand Prix. Verstappen won his first F1 Grand Slam at the 2021 Austrian Grand Prix, the second of two races at the Red Bull Ring in his rookie season.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *